Anglesey artist goes on show
Harry Hughes Williams - February 4 to July 1, 2012
This weekend saw the opening of a brand new exhibition of the work of Harry Hughes Williams, one of Anglesey’s finest artists, at Oriel Ynys Môn.
The exhibition, which runs until July, showcases the breadth of Hughes Williams’ portfolio from watercolour to oil, and also gives visitors a glimpse at the man behind the stunning landscapes and still-life paintings.
Pat West, principal officer Museums, Culture and Archives said, “There is a warm, intimate feel to the exhibition which I think reflects Hughes Williams’ affection towards the place where he was born and where he chose to return to live and work as an artist. As well as the paintings themselves, we have been lucky enough to source personal items, such as his brushes and desk lamp, and a letter from fellow artist Augustus John, which offer a real insight into the man himself.”
No-one is happier to see the work from Hughes Williams’ private collection on show to the public than his family.
Source: Melin yr Ogof, 1942
Myfi Mostyn Rees, the artist’s niece added, “It’s appropriate that this work is being shown once again on Anglesey. This is where he lived and worked, and where he studied the atmospheric changes of the vast Anglesey skies. He also recorded a way of life and landscape that has changed very much over the years.”
Harry Hughes Williams was born in Pentraeth, Anglesey in 1892. He was educated at Liverpool City School of Art, and won a scholarship to the Royal College of Art in London. Whilst there, he won a scholarship to travel in Europe, but because of the war he was forced to stay at home.
At the family home Mynydd Mwyn, Llandrygarn, Anglesey he converted one of the farm buildings into a studio and concentrated on his art.
His work was exhibited at the Royal Cambrian Academy in 1918 and he became a full member of the Academy in 1938. His work was also displayed in other galleries in Wales, Paris and London. In 1938 he was appointed as an art teacher at Llangefni Grammar School where he continued to work until his death in 1953.