This site uses cookies (small files stored on your computer) for basic functions and to help us make your experience better. You can find out more on our Privacy and Cookies page.. Some parts of the site may not work properly if you choose not to accept cookies and by continuing to use this site you agree to our Privacy and cookies policy.

Council Chairperson

Councillor Bob Parry has been elected as the new Chairman of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2016/17.

bob parry chairman

Cllr Parry was bestowed with the honour during a meeting of the Full Council earlier this afternoon (Thursday, May 12th).

After his unanimous election, Cllr Bob Parry, said, “Being elected as Chairman of the Isle of Anglesey County Council is a great honour and a privilege for me. I will endeavour to repay the faith shown in me by my fellow councillors and look forward to representing the county and its people during the coming year.”

Cllr Parry first became a member of the Isle of Anglesey Borough Council in 1981 as Plaid Cymru councillor, representing the communities of Bryngwran and Gwalchmai. He served as Mayor of the Borough Council in 1989/90.

He was elected on to the Isle of Anglesey County Council in April 1996 and now represents the Canolbarth Môn multi-member ward.

Also a prominent member of the agricultural community, Bob Parry served as National Farmers’ Union of Wales President for over 12 years. He was awarded the OBE in the 1994 New Year’s Honours List for services to Welsh agriculture.

A former Leader and Deputy Leader of the County Council, Cllr Parry has also previously held both the Environment and Planning portfolios on the Authority’s Executive.

He is also Director of the Bryngwran Cymunedol social enterprise which runs the Iorwerth Arms pub in the village.

Councillor Richard Owain Jones, who represents the Twrcelyn ward, was also today as elected as the vice-chairman of the County Council for the coming year.

Last update: 19 May 2016 Give feedback on this page
Bookmark with:
| More |

What are these?